The Pancha Mahabhutas - Ayurveda's Five Great Elements

According to Ayurveda, all matter in the world including our bodies is composed of five fundamental elements called “The Pancha Mahabhutas”. These elements are not only the basic building blocks of outer appearance, but also shape our spiritual, mental, and emotional state of minds. In this blog, we will explore the wisdom behind each of the five great elements and their significance.

Prithvi (Earth)

The first Element, Prithvi represents the quality of stability, groundedness, and physical substance or form within us and our surroundings.

According to Ayurvedic teachings, the earth principle governs our physical bodies, skeletal structure, muscles, skin, hair, nails, teeth, and sense of smell. From the solid matter composing the landscapes and terrain around us to the dense, tangible tissues that give us shape, Prithvi permeates wherever there is solidity or substantiality.

In energy bodies, Prithvi loosely aligns with the root chakra governing our foundational security and basic needs. When properly balanced, we feel rooted, self-assured, and nourished on all levels.  But when deficient or excessive, it can manifest as lethargy, greed, rigidity, or feeling disconnected from the physical plane.

Jal (Water)

The second element, Jal or water, governs all sources and flows of moisture including our bodily fluids, digestive juices, plasma, and mucus membranes. Just as water represents the universal solvent and giver of biological life externally, the water principle rules our emotional fluidity, intuition, and empathy internally.

Jal relates to the sacral chakra and our senses of taste and touch. When in harmonious balance, we feel emotionally balanced, flexible, and compassionate. But an imbalance can manifest as a tendency towards possessiveness, excessive attachment, depression, fear, or confusion.

Ayurvedic practices like hot water therapy, oil massages, and staying properly hydrated help attune us to the water element's spiritual and physical flow.

Teja (Fire)

The element of fire, known as Teja, governs all forms of energy and transformation in the universe through its inherent qualities of heat, brilliance, and metabolism. It powers our digestion, body temperature, intelligence, and courage.

When balanced, the fire element bestows vigor, assertiveness, perception, and an adventurous zest for life. Out of balance, teja energy runs toward burning anger, egotism, criticism, and even destruction. 

Vayu (Air)

Representing movement, circulation, breath, and the subtle flow of prana (vital life force), Vayu is the air element that facilitates communication and respiration within us and our environments. Aligning with the heart and lung meridians, Vayu also governs our nervous system functioning, speech, and sense of touch. 

When balanced, we feel inspired, communicative, energetic yet stable. When excessive, Vayu can look like restlessness, anxiety, overthinking or sensory overwhelm. But when deficient, we become sluggish, depressed, and struggle with mental focus. Practices like meditation, pranayama, and consuming lighter, drier foods help attune the air element.

Akasha (Space/Ether)

Considered the most subtle yet foundational of the five elements, Akasha represents the void that allows for all creation and is contained within the other four elements. The infinite, all-encompassing space element governs our sense of spirituality, inner peace, creativity, and our perceptions of light, sound, and electromagnetic energies. 

In the body, Akasha most closely relates to the crown chakra governing our connection to higher consciousness. When balanced, we feel spacious, expansive, free, joyful and spiritually centered. But when imbalanced, we feel stuck, limited, blocked or pessimistic about our infinite potential.

To harmonize this element, practice activities that cultivate inner stillness, creativity, and unity consciousness like meditation, mindfulness, yoga, time in nature, listening to uplifting music, or simply creating gaps from overstimulation.



In Ayurveda, honoring the sacred dance of the Pancha Mahabhutas – earth, water, fire, air, and space – is the key to restoring alignment within ourselves and living in harmonious flow with the universe that birthed us. 

By understanding how the five elements constantly transmute and interact within our physical, mental, and spiritual layers, we can offer them respect and balance through Ayurvedic diet, lifestyle, and yogic practices tailored to our unique mind-body blueprint.

It all starts with attunement to these primordial energies that birthed our existence and animate the vast web of creation we're inseparably woven within. Living in reverence to the five great elements is living in reverence to the miracle of life itself.

Shop for the Best Baby Care products



1: What are the five great elements in Ayurveda?

Answer: According to Ayurveda, the five fundamental elements that make up all matter, including the human body and mind, are: Prithvi (Earth), Jal (Water), Teja (Fire), Vayu (Air), and Akasha (Space/Ether).

2: How do the five elements relate to the human body and mind?

Answer: Each of the five elements governs and shapes specific aspects of the physical body, as well as our mental, emotional, and spiritual states. 

3: What happens when the five elements are out of balance?

Answer: An imbalance or excess/deficiency of any of the five elements can lead to various physical, mental, and emotional issues. 

4: How can we balance the five elements in our lives?

Answer: Ayurvedic practices like diet, lifestyle, yoga, meditation, and other therapies can help restore balance to the five elements. 

5: Why is understanding the five elements important in Ayurveda?

Answer: Understanding the Pancha Mahabhutas (Five Great Elements) is central to the Ayurvedic worldview, as they are considered the fundamental building blocks of the universe and the human being. 

Back to blog
1 of 3